London Baby, Yeah!!!!

Well this last weekend, as you know from the car story, I took my guests to London for the day.  London is one of my favourite cities in the entire world and being a shy (!!!!) old English girl I visit at least four times a year.  Generally my visits are to catch up with Indie or my brother and sister-in-law and occasionally for other reasons but I don’t very often do the tourist trail, normally the pub trail. 

I had a very bright plan to show my lovely Americans the tourist route in London but without spending any money.  We walked about 4 miles in the end, which obviously made Chicken Licken endlessly happy because we all know that 6 year olds love nothing better than hiking around a city in a 90 degree heat for 5 hours!!!  I figure that she actually walked about half a mile and Justin carried her the other 3.5……what a complete sweetie!!!!!

We saw typical English guards in their bearskin hats, I guess guarding something although we weren’t entirely sure what with them being stationed on a random side street off The Mall:

American Invasion 006

Buckingham Palace was the next stop.  Note my cheerful daughter in the ‘I love London’ top not cracking a smile in the background:

American Invasion 009

The Queen wasn’t home but Jill is doing a great impression of Chicken Licken hanging off Justin 😉

Then the London Eye.  I have seen this before from a distance i.e. whilst pretending not to be a tourist and whilst hobbling the last couple of miles of the London Marathon when I could barely put one foot in front of the other let alone appreciate the sights. It was pretty cool apart from the ridiculous price and the even more stupidly ridiculous line of people waiting to board the carriages:

American Invasion 011

I think I did a good job on our London route and everyone (apart from a certain Miss) enjoyed the day, even if we had aching feet and muscles, and we were parked out in zone  10!!!!!  The part of the day I think I enjoyed the most was having Jill all to myself the whole journey home whilst the ‘kids’ were sleeping in the back seat!  London baby yeah 🙂

2 responses to “London Baby, Yeah!!!!

  1. Oh how I miss London-even for all it’s crappy transport problems, pollution, annoying tourists and expensive drinks.
    I miss the shopping, museums, people watching and chilling in one of the parks.
    And there are still lots of touristy things that I still haven’t done-like Kensington palace or Westminister Abbey.
    I can’t wait until Mike and I do and live there in Chelsea for a year-we’re going to live like kings for a year!!!
    And I’m fairly sure Em and Chicken Licken will be visiting us most weekends!!!

  2. You betcha ass we will. Man……the tourists were unbelievable…..more annoying than old people at the market…..I could write a whole new post about just how infuriating tourists are!!!!

Leave a comment